Tag: DBFOM

  • Ready to tender

    Ready to Tender, Not Yet Approved

    Cadence has opened the procurement for the first segment of ALTO — while its own notice says the project is not yet approved.

    ⚠ What the document says

    On June 23, 2026, Cadence — the private partner chosen to develop ALTO — published a Preliminary Notice to Market for the Ottawa–Montreal segment, the first part of the line to be built. It sets out the contracts, the delivery models, and a tendering schedule that starts this summer. Cadence PNM

    The same notice states that construction has “no official launch date” and that the entire build-and-operate phase is “subject to the government of Canada’s final confirmation of the investment.” In other words: the machinery to build this is being switched on before the decision to build it — and the money to pay for it — has been confirmed.

    The point in one sentence

    You do not need an access-to-information request to see this one. It is a public document, unredacted, published by the developer itself — and on its own pages it does two things at once: it commits the construction industry to a two-year tendering calendar for the project’s biggest contracts, and it confirms that the project is not yet funded, not yet finally approved, and does not yet have a confirmed start date.

    This is the same sequence this Initiative has documented at every earlier stage: the commitment comes first, the decision that would justify it comes later. What is new is that it is now happening in the open, in the developer’s own words, rather than in a briefing note released years after the fact.

    None of this settles whether high-speed rail should be built. It is a question about order of operations — whether a project should be this far into procurement before the public analysis, the final business case, and the funding decision are in place.

    Read the source
    Cadence Preliminary Notice to Market — Central Segment
    A public document (document no. ALTO-CPDP-00000-PW-080000-500BC10-000001F), issued June 2026 by Projet Cadence Rail s.e.c. Available in French and English.
    Download PDF
    What it is

    A tender calendar, not a green light

    A “Preliminary Notice to Market” is a signal to construction firms: here is the work that is coming, here is roughly when it will be tendered, start putting your teams together. Cadence is careful to say it is not a formal call for bids and not a commitment to buy anything. That caution is worth taking at face value — but it cuts both ways. The document is not a decision to proceed; it is the paperwork that gets the supply chain ready to proceed. And it is being issued now, ahead of the decision that determines whether there is anything to proceed to.

    The notice is explicit about that gap. It says construction is “contemplated to begin in 2029–2030, although no official launch date has been confirmed,” and that the build-and-operate phase — the phase where the line actually gets built — happens only “subject to the government of Canada’s final confirmation of the investment.” Yet the tendering timetable it publishes does not wait for that confirmation. It begins in the summer of 2026.

    Summer
    2026
    first major tender opens (trains), with stations and the Montreal tunnel to follow through 2027
    Cadence PNM, Table 2
    2029–30
    construction “contemplated,” but with no confirmed start date
    Cadence PNM
    Not yet
    federal investment decision — the build phase is “subject to” it
    Cadence PNM

    The order here is the whole story. Under any ordinary reading of how a public project should work, the sequence is: decide whether to build it, confirm the money, then tender the work. This notice runs two of those steps in parallel — the tendering starts while the decision and the money are still described, on the same pages, as outstanding.

    The Two Columns

    What the notice commits to, and what it leaves open

    The clearest way to read the document is to line up what it treats as fixed enough to build a procurement schedule around against what it says is still undecided. Both columns are drawn from the same notice.

    Treated as ready to tenderStill described as undecided
    The contract packages. The notice sets out more than seventeen contract packages (WP1–WP17) — trains, signalling, stations, the Montreal access tunnel, two major bridges, and the track itself — each with a delivery model already assigned.The final route. The “more precise corridor” is still promised for autumn 2026. For the Toronto–Ottawa segment, the notice leaves open the choice between a northern route through the Canadian Shield and a southern route through farmland — unresolved.
    The timetable. A tender calendar running from summer 2026 (trains) through 2027–2028 (tunnel, bridges, civil works), package by package.The start date. Construction has no confirmed launch date; 2029–2030 is described only as “contemplated.”
    The delivery company. A dedicated entity, “InfraCo,” led by CDPQ Infra, is to be the contracting party for all the builders, with a second company, “OpCo,” to run operations.The funding. The entire build-and-operate phase is “subject to the government of Canada’s final confirmation of the investment” — which the notice does not report as having been given.
    The technical spec. Design speed of 320 km/h; full electrification; no level crossings; a twin-bore tunnel roughly 15 km long and 9 m wide under the Riviere des Prairies and Mount Royal into Montreal.The business case. No final business case has been published. The government’s own answer to Parliament in June 2026 was that the cost-benefit, net-present-value, and 30-year subsidy figures are “not finalized.”

    Read together, the two columns describe a project detailed enough to hand contractors a two-year work plan, and unsettled enough that its route, its price, its business case, and its go-ahead are all still open. Those are not usually true of the same project at the same time.

    The Machinery

    What is actually being tendered

    The notice divides the first segment into more than seventeen work packages. Most people following this issue do not need the package numbers — but the shape of the list matters, because it shows how much of the hardest and most expensive work is being brought to market before its design is finished.

    The trains and the systems come first

    The first tender out the door, in summer 2026, is for the rolling stock — roughly 60 trainsets. The signalling and control systems follow in the autumn. These are network-wide contracts: they are written for the first segment but carry options to extend to the rest of the line later.

    The tunnel and bridges are tendered before they are fully designed

    The single most demanding piece — the Montreal access tunnel, a twin-bore ~15 km bore under a river and a mountain into the downtown — is brought to market on an early-involvement basis because its design and ground conditions are not yet settled. Two major bridges (the Riviere des Mille-Iles and the Ottawa River) are in the same position. The riskiest, priciest work is being tendered at the point where the least is known about it.

    The benefit numbers arrive without a source

    The notice repeats headline figures — $24.5 billion a year in GDP, more than 50,000 construction jobs, 5,000 operating jobs — with no study, method, or citation attached to any of them. They are stated as facts in a document whose own government has told Parliament the underlying cost-benefit analysis is not finished.

    Who Runs It

    Who is in the room

    The notice confirms the structure of the group that would build and run the line. This is a matter of public record from the document itself; it is set out here as fact, not as accusation.

    Cadence is a consortium. The notice names CDPQ Infra (the infrastructure arm of Quebec’s public pension fund) as the lead infrastructure and equity member, with Air Canada as an equity member; SYSTRA and AtkinsRealis as the design leads; and Keolis and SNCF Voyageurs as the operations leads. The new delivery company, “InfraCo,” would be led by CDPQ Infra and would sit above and contract with all the individual builders.

    Two features are worth noting plainly, both straight from the document. First, the same consortium that is designing the strategy also sits atop the company that will award and manage the contracts — while the notice’s own rules bar consortium members from bidding on the major contracts and require engineering firms to take part “as subcontractors.” Second, Air Canada — the airline whose routes this train is meant to compete with — is an equity holder in the developer, a position the notice describes by reference to the airline’s experience linking its flights with rail in Europe. Readers can weigh what those arrangements mean; the point here is only that the developer’s own notice puts them on the record.

    The Fine Print

    Three things easy to miss

    The contracts would be in English only

    The notice contemplates publishing the major contracts in English only, with French “courtesy versions” available on request — a notable choice for a federal project running through Quebec and Ontario. It justifies this by pointing to the English-language agreement Cadence signed with Alto.

    You may not talk to the people who run it — except through Cadence

    Firms taking part in the procurement are told they “must refrain from any direct communication” with “Project Stakeholders” — a category the notice defines to include landowners and communities — except as Cadence permits, on pain of disqualification.

    A federal law puts the project largely beyond local jurisdiction

    The notice cites the High-Speed Rail Act, which declares the railway a “work for the general advantage of Canada.” That designation places the project under federal jurisdiction and applies provincial and municipal law only “to the extent that such laws may validly apply” — the mechanism that narrows what municipalities and provinces can require.

    None of these is hidden. They are in the notice, in plain sentences. They are collected here because, together, they describe a procurement that is moving quickly, keeping tight control of who may speak to whom, and operating under a statute that limits local say — all before the funding decision the same document says is still to come.

    Where things stand · July 2026

    Summary ledger

    Reading the notice against the question a citizen would reasonably ask — is this project actually decided? — here is where the document leaves things.

    Under way
    Procurement. Tendering for the first segment’s major contracts begins summer 2026 and runs through 2028.
    Under way
    Delivery structure. InfraCo (led by CDPQ Infra) and OpCo are to be set up as the contracting and operating companies.
    Stated but unsourced
    Benefits. $24.5B annual GDP, 50,000+ construction jobs, 5,000 operating jobs — asserted with no study or method attached.
    Not yet done
    Final route. The precise corridor is promised for autumn 2026; the Toronto–Ottawa north/south choice is left open.
    Not yet done
    Business case. No final business case published; the government told Parliament the cost-benefit, NPV, and subsidy figures are “not finalized.”
    Not yet done
    Start date. Construction has no confirmed launch date; 2029–2030 is only “contemplated.”
    Not yet done
    The go-ahead. The build-and-operate phase is “subject to the government of Canada’s final confirmation of the investment” — not reported as given.

    The top of that list is moving. The bottom of it is not. A procurement this advanced usually means a project this decided — and by the developer’s own account, this one is not. The notice asks the construction market to get ready to build something the government has not yet committed to build, at a price no one has finalized, on a route not yet chosen. The reasonable question for anyone following this is not whether the train is a good idea. It is why the building has started before the deciding.

    Sources

    Primary documents

    1.
    Projet Cadence Rail s.e.c., Preliminary Notice to Market / Avis préalable au marché — Alto Project Central Segment, document no. ALTO-CPDP-00000-PW-080000-500BC10-000001F, dated June 23, 2026 (cover) / June 22, 2026 (milestone table). A public document issued in French and English. All quotations and figures in this brief — the tender schedule (Table 2), the “no official launch date” and “subject to…final confirmation of the investment” language, the WP1–WP17 package structure, the InfraCo/OpCo and consortium structure, the 320 km/h and tunnel specifications, the English-only contract approach, the stakeholder-communication restriction, and the GDP and jobs figures — are drawn from this notice. citizenresearch.ca (PDF)
    2.
    Government of Canada, response to Order Paper Question Q-1191 (Scott Reid, Lanark–Frontenac), House of Commons, tabled June 17, 2026 — source for the statement that the project’s cost-benefit, net-present-value, and 30-year subsidy figures are “not finalized.”
    3.
    ALTO / Cadence, statements that a more precise corridor is to be unveiled in autumn 2026, referenced in the notice’s appendix and in prior public communications.

    This brief summarizes a single public document in plain language. It does not argue that high-speed rail should or should not be built; it examines the order in which this procurement is proceeding relative to the decisions that would authorize it. A fuller treatment of the notice appears in the Initiative’s Accountability Record.

  • Reading Lovegrove

    Reading Lovegrove

    What the UK Cabinet Office’s review of the HS2 Civil Service failures tells us about ALTO.

    ⚠ New UK Cabinet Office Review Published

    In May 2026 the UK Cabinet Office published a review by Sir Stephen Lovegrove — former National Security Adviser and former Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Defence — into how the British Civil Service failed to identify and act on the deterioration of HS2 before its costs reached £82.2 billion for the London–Birmingham section alone. The review is short, unusually candid, and addresses the institutional architecture Canada is now using to deliver ALTO. gov.uk

    The Lovegrove Review is not about why HS2 went wrong as an engineering project. Its purpose is to explain how a senior G7 civil service, with all the oversight tools a Westminster-system government has, failed to see the disaster coming. That makes it directly relevant to the question Canadians need to ask about ALTO.

    Critical Finding

    The Lovegrove Review documents a four-fold real-terms increase in HS2 Phase 1 costs between 2012 and 2026 — from £20.5 billion to £82.2 billion in constant 2019 prices — on a 225-kilometre stretch of railway. A directly parallel Canadian cost-escalation trajectory has already occurred on the corridor ALTO now proposes to serve: from under C$5 billion for the abandoned High Frequency Rail option in 2016 to C$80–120 billion for ALTO as confirmed in February 2025, a sixteen-to-twenty-four-fold increase within a decade.

    Three Lovegrove findings translate directly to ALTO. First, the corporate form of an arm’s-length delivery body funded entirely from the public purse — HS2 Ltd in the UK, ALTO HSR Inc. in Canada — is, in Lovegrove’s words, “fundamentally ill-suited to this type of arrangement” because the commercial disciplines the corporate form is supposed to deliver do not flow from grant-in-aid funding alone. Second, HS2 Ltd’s board and executive developed a “fortress mentality,” becoming cheerleaders for high-speed rail rather than rigorous delivery managers — a pattern the CRI has been documenting in ALTO’s recent public outputs. Third, and most directly applicable: external reviews must not substitute for official advice on alternative ways of delivering a project before a Final Investment Decision.

    The Lovegrove Review also contains an unusually explicit vindication of dissenting analysis. Lord Berkeley’s January 2020 dissent from the Oakervee panel was dismissed at the time as methodologically unsound. Six years later, the Cabinet Office writes that the thrust of his judgements has proved correct and his estimates closer to today’s outturn than those on which ministers gave the go-ahead. This is the most authoritative G7 government statement to date on the credibility of structured citizen reference-class analysis in high-speed rail governance.

    Download
    Reading Lovegrove — Full Brief (PDF)
    Detailed analysis of the Lovegrove Review’s findings and their direct application to ALTO’s current trajectory
    Download PDF
    A Published Reference Class

    The cost trajectory the UK Cabinet Office published this month

    The single most useful artefact in the Lovegrove Review is its published trajectory of HS2 Phase 1 cost estimates over time, all expressed in a 2019 price base for comparability. Phase 1 is the London to West Midlands section of approximately 225 km — the only section now being constructed, after the cancellation of Phase 2 north of Birmingham.

    YearPhase 1 cost estimate (£bn, 2019 prices)
    201220.5
    201326.8
    202044.6
    202354
    202466
    202682.2

    In 2019 prices, the 2026 estimate is more than four times the 2012 estimate for the same 225 km of railway. The increase from 2024 to 2026 alone — two years — is larger than the entire original 2012 budget. This is not a critic’s estimate. It is not an academic reconstruction. It is the British government, today, publishing the official trajectory of its own project’s cost.

    For ALTO, the importance of this trajectory is twofold. The comparator is not ancient: HS2 Phase 1 was at roughly the same stage of pre-construction maturity in 2012–2015 that ALTO is at now. And the trajectory is now an official UK government data point — not contested or speculative — which removes one of the standard rhetorical defences used in ALTO’s framing.

    The Canadian Parallel

    The same trajectory has already occurred on the Toronto–Quebec City corridor

    In 2016 the federal government funded a serious study of High Frequency Rail (HFR) for the Toronto–Quebec City corridor: 170–177 km/h conventional rail on largely dedicated tracks, costed at under C$5 billion in 2016 dollars, or under C$10 billion adjusted for construction inflation to 2024. A December 2021 Joint Project Office Business Case prepared by VIA Rail Canada and the Canada Infrastructure Bank confirmed the preferred option. tc.canada.ca

    In March 2022 the federal government issued a Request for Expressions of Interest that pivoted the procurement to a Design-Build-Finance-Operate-Maintain (DBFOM) structure and explicitly invited proposals for speeds above 200 km/h. In February 2025, without publishing a side-by-side comparison of the HFR and high-speed options, the government confirmed the project would become ALTO at 300 km/h+, costed at C$80–120 billion. Passengers will not board until the 2040s.

    ~5×
    HS2 Phase 1 real-terms increase, 2012–2026 (UK)
    Lovegrove Review, May 2026
    16–24×
    HFR to ALTO escalation, 2016–2025 (Canada)
    CRI From HFR to ALTO, March 2026
    $0
    published side-by-side comparison of HFR vs ALTO
    As of May 2026

    The escalation from HFR’s published baseline to ALTO’s announced range is of the same order of magnitude as, and on a comparable timescale to, the four-fold real-terms increase Lovegrove documents for HS2 Phase 1. The HS2 cost-trajectory table above is not a foreign curiosity. It is the comparator for a transformation that has already occurred on the project Canada is now committing to deliver.

    The “Original Sins”

    Lovegrove’s consensus diagnosis — and its ALTO analogues

    Lovegrove summarises the consensus diagnosis of why HS2 cost forecasts proved so wrong. The list is short and direct: original gold-plating of the high-speed concept; a decision to begin construction at the hardest points of the route; changing objectives and political priorities; award of the Main Works Civils Contracts at insufficient design maturity and on terms which did not manage risk; and costs and risks badly underestimated.

    The pursuit of 300 km/h electrified high-speed running across a route with the geological and ecological profile of the proposed southern corridor is itself a gold-plating decision. Reference-class analysis shows that the marginal capital cost of moving from a conventional or near-conventional dedicated passenger railway to a fully grade-separated electrified high-speed alignment is the dominant driver of total programme cost — and is the primary mechanical reason the HFR-to-ALTO transformation generated the cost escalation set out above. An alternative configuration — a lower design speed in the order of 200 km/h, on a route making use of the 401 corridor rather than a new southern alignment across Eastern Ontario — would shift the project into a different cost class and a different environmental and community-impact profile. Whether such a configuration is preferable, on a full set of criteria, is precisely the comparative question the Lovegrove framework says government should answer before a Final Investment Decision.

    The HS2 phasing parallel is not exact: ALTO plans to begin with the Ottawa-to-Montréal segment, which involves real engineering complexity including Leda clay deposits and the Ottawa River crossing, but is not the hardest section of the proposed corridor. The more challenging geological and ecological terrain remains to be worked through downstream of any Notice-to-Proceed-equivalent decision. The category of risk Lovegrove identifies nonetheless applies: committing to a DBFOM contractual architecture spanning the full corridor before the hardest sections have been designed in detail locks in contractual obligations under the same design-immaturity conditions HS2 entered when it awarded its Main Works Civils Contracts. The HS2 mistake was not solely the geographical choice to start in the Chilterns; it was the contractual choice to commit before maturity, and that part of the parallel remains direct.

    Sir Jon Thompson, the Executive Chair of HS2 Ltd, set out the resulting contractual problem directly in evidence to the House of Commons Transport Committee on 10 January 2024. parliament.uk He told the Committee that the Government and the company had decided to let cost-plus contracts under which 99% of the financial risk sat with the Government and only 1% with the contractor, describing the arrangement as extraordinary. Under a fixed-percentage fee, he noted, a contractor who runs over budget receives the same percentage of a much larger number, which effectively incentivises overspending rather than restraining it.

    The risk allocation under the ALTO co-development contract with the Cadence consortium has not been publicly disclosed. Whether it replicates, mitigates, or improves on the HS2 risk allocation cannot be assessed from public information. Under Lovegrove’s framework, that absence of disclosure is itself the relevant problem: the contractual terms that drive cost outcomes over the lifetime of a project are exactly the terms that the sponsor department, Parliament, and the Auditor General require visibility into before, not after, commitment.

    The Crown Corporation Problem

    Lovegrove’s structural critique of the delivery vehicle

    Lovegrove’s most pointed structural critique is of HS2 Ltd’s status as a Company Limited by Guarantee with government as sole guarantor. The Review concludes that this construct was institutionally incoherent. The arguments traditionally offered for it — independence from government, ability to hire at market rates, commercial discipline, decision-making at commercial speed — are real benefits, but they only work when the entity has genuine third-party shareholders with capital at risk.

    “Company structures are arguably fundamentally ill-suited to this type of arrangement.”

    — Lovegrove Review, May 2026

    HS2 Ltd received 100% of its funding from government grant-in-aid. There were no third-party shareholders, no commercial counterparties with capital at risk, no governance mechanisms forcing cost-benefit discipline from below. The advantages of the company form were thus retained only in name. What HS2 Ltd actually got was the freedom to hire at private-sector rates and to operate at arm’s length from ministers, without the corresponding discipline of having investors who would have insisted on cost control.

    ALTO HSR Inc. is in a structurally comparable position to HS2 Ltd at the corporate level. It is a federal Crown corporation, 100% publicly funded, with no third-party shareholders in the corporation itself. The contractual relationship with the Cadence consortium under the DBFOM arrangement is not publicly disclosed in sufficient detail to assess how risk, financing, and return are allocated between the parties or over what time horizon. What can be observed from the public record is the corporate-form question: a Crown corporation receiving 100% of its funding from the federal purse, used to obtain independence from political cycles and freedom to hire specialist talent, is in the same structural category as HS2 Ltd — the category Lovegrove diagnoses as institutionally incoherent because the disciplines that normally accompany the corporate form do not flow from grant-in-aid funding alone.

    The “Fortress Mentality”

    A cultural pathology, and a downstream information failure

    Beyond structure, Lovegrove identifies a cultural pathology that should be familiar to anyone tracking ALTO’s public communications. The Review records that HS2 Ltd’s board, and particularly its executive management and chair, developed what interviewees described as a fortress mentality — becoming cheerleaders not only for HS2 but for the cause of high-speed rail in the UK more generally, framing the project as ushering in a new era. The Review is unambiguous that this conception of the company’s role was misguided. Transport policy is for ministers; the company’s job is delivery within scope and budget.

    “The Board, and especially the executive management and Chair, had adopted a ‘fortress mentality’ and had become ‘cheerleaders’, not merely for HS2 but for the cause of high-speed rail in the UK more generally.”

    — Lovegrove Review, May 2026

    This cultural finding matters because it generated a downstream information failure. Lovegrove quotes board members and reviewers describing the management information packs given to the HS2 Ltd board as forming a veil behind which less good news became difficult to assess or even identify, with the same problem persisting unaddressed years later — packs remaining unwieldy, format-inconsistent, and lacking prioritisation. Because the same data flowed through to government, the sponsor department was working from the same compromised information.

    The CRI’s post-consultation work has documented precisely this pattern in ALTO’s public outputs. The disclosures in Q-923 on cost, ridership, and the self-sustaining claim use confidence framings that do not survive parametric stress-testing against McGill TRAM and Munk School sources. The marketing pivot identified through the Cossette ATI disclosures, and the unanswered status of TRAN Report 18 — published by the House of Commons Standing Committee on Transport, Infrastructure and Communities and left without a government response when Parliament was prorogued — are the documentary symptoms of an executive culture that has begun to treat advocacy as primary and delivery information as secondary. Lovegrove’s framework gives that observation a name and an authoritative diagnostic basis.

    The candour of Sir Jon Thompson’s evidence to the Transport Committee on 10 January 2024 is worth pausing on, because it confirms the Lovegrove diagnosis from inside the institution. Thompson — himself a former Permanent Secretary at HM Revenue and Customs and at the Ministry of Defence, and a double-qualified accountant — told the Committee that when he joined the HS2 board in 2021 he was struck by the lack of data and scrutiny of programme finances; that the management information presented to the board was not robust enough to assess whether main civils contractors were meeting productivity targets; and that significant improvement only arrived in October 2023, two and a half years later. He described it as a shocking thing to say, but acknowledged that the quality of board-level management information had not been good enough. That is the senior executive of a major UK arm’s-length delivery body, on the parliamentary record, confirming the exact information failure the Lovegrove Review now documents externally.

    The Notice-to-Proceed Moment

    When external reviews substitute for official advice

    The Lovegrove Review devotes substantial attention to the Notice to Proceed decision in early 2020, when government formally committed to construction of HS2 Phase 1. The sequence is instructive. The Oakervee Review, an independent panel chaired by a former HS2 Ltd chair, recommended proceeding with the full route. Its report was published shortly after a Prime Minister–Chancellor–Secretary of State trilateral meeting had already reached the same conclusion. The formal Notice to Proceed was confirmed in March 2020.

    Lovegrove’s criticism is not that the Oakervee Review was conducted in bad faith. It is that the official advice provided to ministers alongside the Oakervee report did not address alternative ways of delivering the project — as distinct from alternative projects — including options which would have led to a delay in construction while alternative designs, options, or contractual arrangements were sought. The external review effectively substituted for official advice on strategic choice.

    “Reviews by external actors (including this one) have their place in informing policy formulation, but they should not substitute for official advice.”

    — Lovegrove Review, Recommendation 14

    This is the recommendation with the most direct bearing on where ALTO now sits. The work being produced by Cadence under its co-development contract, the public outputs of ALTO HSR Inc., and the materials prepared for the parliamentary process are all in danger of functioning as external review substituting for official advice on alternatives. The category of alternative Lovegrove insists should not be foreclosed before a Final Investment Decision — different speed classes, different route alignments, different contractual structures, different phasing — is exactly the category that has not been comparatively analysed for ALTO. A lower design speed in the order of 200 km/h, and a route making use of the 401 corridor rather than a new southern alignment, are concrete examples of the alternatives that would normally be costed and compared at this stage. They have not been.

    The CRI’s March 2026 brief From HFR to ALTO already constitutes the kind of structured comparison Lovegrove says government itself should produce. It identifies eight pivotal changes that occurred between the December 2021 HFR Business Case and the February 2025 confirmation of ALTO as a high-speed system, and documents the absence of a published side-by-side cost-benefit comparison between the two options. The point under Lovegrove’s framework is not that citizen research is a substitute for official advice. It is that when an arm’s-length delivery body and the sponsor department do not produce that comparison themselves, and the government nonetheless proceeds, the conditions Lovegrove identifies as the proximate cause of the HS2 failure are present.

    Vindication of the Dissenting Voice

    The lone dissenter the Cabinet Office now says was right

    One paragraph of the Lovegrove Review deserves to be read by every parliamentarian considering ALTO. When the British government was deciding whether to proceed with HS2 in 2020, it commissioned an independent panel chaired by a former HS2 chair, Douglas Oakervee. The panel recommended proceeding with the full project. One member dissented — Lord Berkeley, a peer and former rail executive. His dissenting report cast doubt on the costings, the schedule, and the capability of HS2 Ltd to manage the project. He was dismissed at the time as methodologically unsound. His report was excluded from the panel’s formal conclusions.

    “There is no escaping the fact that the thrust of his judgements, in particular about the capability of the Company to manage the project, have proved to be correct, and his estimates much closer to today’s outturn than those upon which ministers ultimately gave the go-ahead.”

    — Lovegrove Review, May 2026

    That is the UK Cabinet Office, six years later, on the public record, telling Parliament that the man it ignored was right. His estimates were closer to reality than the ones ministers used to make the final decision. The institutional process designed to test his concerns failed.

    This matters for Canada because it is the most authoritative statement any G7 government has ever made about the value of structured outside-the-tent analysis on a major infrastructure project. It does not validate every dissenting analysis automatically — Lovegrove notes that some of Berkeley’s specific methodological steps were questionable and that some of the cost increases arose from factors Berkeley did not identify — but it establishes that the dismissal of dissenting reference-class work as inherently less credible than insider forecasts has now been formally repudiated by one G7 government.

    Corporate Overlap

    Two Cadence members were inside HS2

    Two of the six members of the Cadence consortium selected by Canada to design, build, finance, operate and maintain ALTO were directly embedded in HS2 work during the period that the Lovegrove Review now criticises.

    AtkinsRéalis

    The Canadian engineering firm that rebranded from SNC-Lavalin in 2023, and the lead Canadian engineering member of Cadence, was part of the CH2M / Atkins / SENER Engineering Delivery Partner joint venture for HS2 Phase One. That ten-year contract was awarded in 2016 and was valued between £250 million and £350 million. The Engineering Delivery Partner role placed Atkins inside HS2 Ltd, fully integrated, with explicit responsibility for supporting the preparation and procurement of the Main Works Civils Contracts — the contracts that the Lovegrove Review identifies as awarded at insufficient design maturity and on terms which did not manage risk. Atkins’s UK arm was acquired by SNC-Lavalin in 2017, mid-way through the contract, and is now part of AtkinsRéalis.

    SYSTRA

    The French rail engineering firm and a Cadence member was part of the Mott MacDonald / SYSTRA design joint venture working alongside the Balfour Beatty VINCI construction joint venture on HS2 Lots N1 and N2 of the Main Works Civils Contracts — the 90 km West Midlands stretch including the Long Itchington Wood Green tunnel and the Birmingham approaches. SYSTRA was also a partner in the BBV-SYSTRA (BBVS) joint venture for the Old Oak Common station in London. SYSTRA’s role on HS2 was thus across both design and construction-management functions on the very contracts whose financial architecture HS2’s own chair has publicly criticised before the UK Public Accounts Committee.

    These observations are factual, not attributive. The Lovegrove Review is explicit that the institutional failure on HS2 lay primarily with HS2 Ltd’s governance and culture and secondarily with the Civil Service, not with the contractor firms per se. Many of the firms involved are world-leading rail engineers, and their inclusion in Cadence reflects that. The point is that two firms whose immediately prior major HSR engagement is now the subject of a Cabinet Office post-mortem on cost control are now central to ALTO’s design, build, and ongoing operation under a DBFOM structure. For parliamentarians and analysts considering whether the lessons of HS2 are being absorbed into ALTO’s procurement and oversight, this is a fact that warrants disclosure in any briefing material on the project.

    Implications for ALTO

    What this changes

    Canada has the same parliamentary system as the United Kingdom. The same Treasury Board controls. The same Crown corporation tools. The same Public Accounts Committee. The same Auditor General. The institutional architecture that failed at HS2 — and that Lovegrove has now diagnosed in unusual detail — is the architecture being used to deliver ALTO.

    The HS2 cost trajectory is now an official G7 reference class

    The Cabinet Office published trajectory — £20.5bn (2012) to £82.2bn (2026) in constant 2019 prices — is now an official G7 data point. It belongs in every cost-related submission, briefing letter, and parliamentary communication on ALTO between now and a Final Investment Decision.

    The Crown corporation critique applies directly

    The structural critique of the Company Limited by Guarantee model translates directly to ALTO HSR Inc. The case for Crown-corporation delivery has been overstated; the commercial discipline its proponents claim does not flow from the structure adopted when 100% of funding comes from the public purse.

    Recommendation 14 creates a concrete obligation

    Government, not contractors, must produce the comparative analysis of alternative ways of delivering the project — including alternative speed classes and route corridors — before any Notice-to-Proceed-equivalent decision. Doing it after commitment is, in Lovegrove’s framework, too late.

    Berkeley’s vindication establishes a precedent

    The Cabinet Office’s 2026 vindication of Lord Berkeley’s 2020 dissenting report establishes a public-record precedent for the credibility of structured citizen reference-class analysis in HSR governance. That precedent is now available to be cited.

    The AtkinsRéalis / SYSTRA overlap warrants disclosure

    The involvement of two Cadence members in the HS2 work the Lovegrove Review now criticises is a material fact for parliamentarians considering whether ALTO’s procurement reflects institutional learning from HS2, or the application of the same contractual architecture in a different jurisdiction.

    The Lovegrove and Stewart Reviews together represent the most current, most senior statement by a G7 government on what arm’s-length high-speed rail delivery requires of a Westminster-system sponsor department. The lessons set out in the Lovegrove Review are not lessons Canada needs to learn the hard way. They are available now.

    Download Full Brief
    Reading Lovegrove (PDF)
    Complete analysis for parliamentarians, the Parliamentary Budget Officer, the Auditor General, and constituents tracking ALTO’s governance and procurement
    Download PDF
    Sources

    Primary documents and statements

    1.
    Lovegrove, Sir Stephen. Review of implications for the Civil Service and wider public sector of findings of the James Stewart Review. Cabinet Office, May 2026. Published under Open Government Licence v3.0. gov.uk
    2.
    Stewart, James. The HS2 Experience: Major Transport Projects Governance and Assurance Review. 2025.
    3.
    Thompson, Sir Jon, Executive Chair, HS2 Ltd. Oral evidence to the House of Commons Transport Committee, HS2: progress update, HC 85, 10 January 2024, Questions 393–471 (in particular Qq. 410–412 on cost-estimation methodology, Q417 on the 99/1 risk allocation under cost-plus contracts, Q428 on inadequacy of board-level management information, and Q435 on the limits of corrective action under existing contractual fundamentals). parliament.uk
    4.
    Lord Berkeley. HS2 Review Dissenting Report, January 2020.
    5.
    Government of Canada / Cadence Consortium. Announcement of selection of Cadence as preferred private developer partner for the ALTO HSR project, February 2025.
    6.
    Joint Project Office (VIA Rail Canada / Canada Infrastructure Bank). High Frequency Rail Project Business Case Update. December 2021.
    7.
    Transport Action Canada. Statement on the selection of the Cadence consortium for ALTO HSR co-development. February 2025. transportaction.ca
    8.
    ALTO HSR Citizen Research Initiative. From HFR to ALTO: How a $5 Billion Plan Became an $80–120 Billion One. March 2026.